#47: My controversial world view

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to #47: My controversial world view

  1. Paul Smith says:

    Chocolate covered strawberries are so delicious though…

  2. NoTalentCombo says:

    You don’t put a cherry on top of a sundae because its healthy… you put it there because it tastes delicious.

    Apple pies, chocolate covered strawberries, banana splits, the list goes on and I think you are just missing out!

    I’m more of a “Keep your nuts out of my desert.” kind of person…

  3. Pablo says:

    No! You are exactly right. I had a conversation with a chef-friend of mine. He continues to ridicule me, but I know…you know…
    Fruit and deserts…if there is any such thing as an unholy coupling, surely this is it.
    Stay strong.

    • Kaichu says:

      Pablo, this is your sister speaking, and I KNOW how much you like nuts in the chocolate cakes you devour. And there are CHERRIES in black forest cakes, you know.

      Also, because I live in Florida, you need to come here and eat key lime pies. Mmmmmmmmm.

      (Kat, how weird is it that I randomly encountered my own brother on a comment thread on the internets, completely unexpecpectedly, as I stumbled onto your webcomic just today? My mind, it is officially boggled.)

      (Also, it is rather awesome because we live in different continents now and I *miss* him :-/ )

  4. Jim K. says:

    Using the pumpkin argument I believe lemon meringue pie is also acceptable.

  5. Beth says:

    You’re right!! The last thing I want is a piece of fresh fruit in my dessert. I hate biting into what I’m imagining to be sugary goodness and finding a seed!! There’s a reason I’m eating dessert!! It’s to get away from fruit!! :)

  6. pl00r says:

    So shift your angle of view. Apple pie is not a dessert, just a healty snack baked by a sugar crazed pastry addict.

    What about cheese? Cheese is a healthy snack and it’s used to make cheesecake, cannoli, and other luscious creamy goodness.

    Free your mind, the label doesn’t matter as much as the decadence!

    • Brent C says:

      cheese healthy???

      it’s made from milk…… curdled and dried and allowed to sit around for ages…

      you have any idea how long ago that milk came out the cow? now go to your fridge and look at the expiration date on your carton of pasturized milk….. we throw it out when it goes bad…. so why does anyone bother eating cheese? yuck

  7. jletter says:

    What I want to know is, what are your thoughts on fruit *flavored* desserts that don’t contain any actual fruit? Questions like this puzzle the minds of our greatest scientists!

    • aktettenborn says:

      No. No real fruit, no fruit flavours, nothing. NO FRUITS IN DESSERTS.

      This also goes for vegetable-type desserts, like carrot cake.

  8. Jeremy says:

    If you soak a cherry in brandy and high-fructose corn syrup, it’s no longer healthy. Especially if you drop it in a perfect manhattan on the rocks.

  9. littleowlski says:

    I do like a fruity dessert, but if it’s the choice between fruit and chocolate: chocolate wins it EVERY TIME WITHOUT FAIL!

  10. hahahah! Thanks for my morning laugh! I’m trolling all your posts, but HAD to comment on this one. I’ll do my best from now on ;)

  11. sfer says:

    What about fruit in salads or pizzas?
    What’s your opinion about that?

  12. SmrtChka says:

    I probably know the answer, but what is your take on the fact that some people believe that fruit is a healthy dessert? I personally don’t think it true, and I am incredibly partial to chocolate covered anything, whether it be strawberries, mangoes (orgasmic!), or bananas, but someone tried to sell me on eating desserts after dinner as your dessert rather than grabbing a pint of Brownies and Cream Ice Cream out of the freezer.

    • aktettenborn says:

      No, no. Fruit is a healthy alternative to dessert. It is not dessert. Don’t let those crazies convince you otherwise.

      Sure, you should probably eat fruit instead, but the whole point of dessert is that you probably shouldn’t have it.

  13. Brenda says:

    My sister in law sent me this link. This is also my dessert mantra. Fruit is not dessert, chocolate and caramel are dessert, fruit is breakfast or snack at best. It is nice to know I am not alone. :)

  14. gwynsday says:

    I recently decided that if a dessert item contains fruit or nuts it is automatically healthy and can therefore be eaten as a snack at any time of the day. Some of my favorites are apricot rugelach, chocolate-almond bars, and pecan pie. This also works with adding jam or nutella to things. Or peanut M&Ms. Just trying to see how many desserts per day I can get away with.

    • Kaichu says:

      Mmmmmmmmm. Pecan pie.

      But one day I saw how it was actually made when my friend baked one last Christmas, and DEAR GOD the amount of high fructose corn syrup that goes in it!!!!! Noooooooooooooooo.

  15. milieus says:

    Is it bad that I eat fruit FOR dessert? Should I just hang my head in shame and start my own club?

  16. Pingback: #53: Jive turkeys | Fudge That Sugar

  17. Grimaud50 says:

    This makes complete sense (to me). No more fruits in desserts.

    Nuts are still a go though… right?

  18. dewdroppe says:

    I made these cupcakes last night: http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs987.snc4/76022_1502701089031_1279320025_31217796_1795184_n.jpg
    Yes, they have a strawberry. But that just means I can eat it for breakfast without a guilty conscience. Also, they’re strawberry margarita cupcakes. And have tequila in the glaze. Which undoubtedly counterbalances the fruit.

    • aktettenborn says:

      Trying to bribe your way into the club with booze? No. NO. DENIED.

      • Kaichu says:

        okay, dewdroppe, who are you and where do you live? i am willing to travel continents for those things. holy god. *jawdrop*

        kat, you have a heart of stone. i am impressed at your fastidious upholding of the standards =D

  19. Pingback: Früchte und Desserts « I'm just a simple man …

Leave a Reply

