Christopher Meloni responds to my SVU comic

CHUNG CHUNG!

As some of you know, I started doing a weekly webcomic for Bite.ca a little while ago. The first comic I did for them was this one about Law & Order: SVU, a show I think everyone loves despite (or because of) its ridiculous and predictable storylines. I don’t think I’ve ever turned off a rerun of SVU, even if I just saw the episode a couple of days before.

The day after the comic went up, I got an email from a man who told me he was Christopher Meloni’s assistant. According to this man, Ice T had seen my comic and sent it to Meloni, who loved it – and could I please mail them a few signed copies? Because Meloni wanted to get them framed and give them as gifts.

I got the email at work, and as soon as I read it, I said “HOLY SHIT” pretty loudly (and I then had to explain the whole thing to my boss, because you don’t get to say something like that and then say, “Oh, nothing”). First, I was excited because Christopher Meloni is totally rad (if you somehow have not seen Wet Hot American Summer, what is wrong with you?). Second, I was even more excited that Ice T had seen my comic and apparently liked it; I had assumed that if he ever saw my comic, he’d tell me to eat a hot bowl of dicks. (Thanks, Ice T, for not telling me to do that! Because I would have done it, out of respect. Respect and fear.)

Part of me wondered if the email was a prank, but I realized that if it were a prank, it was a very strange one – after all, if the guy was an impostor, all I’d be doing is sending signed copies of the comic to a stranger. But when the assistant replied with an address, I Googled it, and sure enough, it was the SVU production office. Now, again, it could have been a prank, but at the very worst, I was simply sending Christopher Meloni some comics that he wasn’t expecting. No real harm done.

So, I sent off the signed copies. Today, I received this in my inbox:

HOLY SHIT, YOU GUYS. Christopher Meloni owns a signed copy of my comic. Oh, and he gave the other framed copies to Ice T, Mariska Hargitay, and executive producers Dick Wolf and Neal Baer. YEAH. THAT HAPPENED.

I don’t think I’m exaggerating when I say this is the COOLEST THING THAT HAS EVER HAPPENED. (“What about the Renaissance?” This is cooler.) Christopher Meloni, you are the most awesome mothereffer I’ve ever been in contact with (and your assistant is awesome!). Thanks for liking my comic and not sending me a cease-and-desist order.

CHUNG CHUNG!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Christopher Meloni responds to my SVU comic

  1. megh walls says:

    WIN!

  2. Kim Pugliano says:

    I feel semi-famous because I subscribe to and laugh at all of your wordpress blogs and now this! Yay you! So flipping awesome! Amazing! Great job! I can’t wait to tell everyone I know you!

  3. Ariella says:

    That’s so AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! I’d friggen die. I’d pee myself I’d be so excited. Congrats on a way awesome moment in your comic career.

  4. crankypants says:

    That is so cool!! I love that he sent you a photo of him with the comic, too! congrats!

  5. Kate says:

    That is pretty much the coolest EVAR.

  6. plentyspace says:

    You are my coolest friend

  7. This is absolutely amazing. I interviewed Neal Baer a couple of years ago, and that used to be my claim to fame.
    Now it will have to be that I read the comic of a rad gal whose comic is framed in his office.

    We bow down to your SVU/comic prowress!

  8. MayB says:

    HOLY SHIT! That is the awesomest thing ever. SO GREAT!

  9. Dave says:

    That is frickin awesome. You should ask for a signed tube of dick cream from him. Fair is fair, right.

    (back to loving Christipher Meloni – ok I never stopped.)

  10. Heart says:

    OMG OMG OMG.. See we all know you even before you got famous.. So, now you have to send your BFFs some signed copies too.. That’s just the fair thing to do.. :D
    I LOVE him and watch SVU every night to see him, there I said it!
    Congratulations, BTW, let me know when you move to Hollywood ;)

  11. swankybanana says:

    holy shit!!! im so impressed by you and your fame!!!! lets fullllly do it!

  12. whit says:

    Remember that scene in the first season when Christopher Meloni was in his underpants? I do. Oh, I do.

    Congrats on being, like, a star!

  13. Katie says:

    OMG that’s so f’ing awesome! Which I just said out loud, to my room, without the f’ing apostrophe. !!!

  14. Jenn says:

    Wow, I’m not going to sleep tonight from too much excitement, and I’m not even you! Have you hurt yourself from bouncing off the walls yet?

  15. CONGRATS! YOU DESERVE IT!

  16. congratulations!

    well deserved, since your work is so über-amazing.

  17. Jeff Anderson says:

    Congratulations, this is way exciting.

  18. Pehry says:

    So very awesome, but then, so is your comic!

  19. Danielle says:

    Now THAT is freakin cool. I am incredibly jealous, and totally happy for you!

  20. KateC says:

    That’s awesome! Congratulations!

  21. Jesikah says:

    Best. Thing. Ever.

  22. bman says:

    That’s awesome. Christopher Meloni is now infinitely MORE cool than he was before. And that’s A LOT of cool.

    Congrats! I passed that one around a lot because SVU is one of my favorites… even though it’s one of the most depressing.

  23. Nofate301 says:

    EPIC WIN!

    Congrats!

  24. Natalie says:

    Hi there!

    I have only just stumbled across Fudge That Sugar and friggin’ love it. Oh, and congrats!!!!!! I would say you should ask the assistant if they could send you a few signed copies of Christopher Meloni’s photo so you can frame them, but I see you ordered prints. :P

  25. Matthew says:

    Awesome!

    Also, Mariska Hargitay… I just got that.

  26. Aaron says:

    WTF!!! THAT IS FREAKIN’ AWESOME!!! Congrats!

  27. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

  28. visdviking says:

    THIS IS THE GREATEST THING EVER. Congratulations!

  29. CaleighBenson says:

    I don’t even know you but I want to be your best friend because of this.
    Fuck.
    Congrats.
    What a fucking sexy man.

  30. Garret says:

    Well done, That was solid gold

  31. Forest says:

    Ha ha ha, I just doubled over with laughter and whacked my head on my macbook in the middle of a very tame cafe. It was like I was possessed by some spasming cackling devil for a few seconds!!!

    It may well be the coolest thing that has EVER happened.

  32. gigi says:

    Wow. Ice T liked your comic. He and Munch are my favourite SVU duo.

  33. blackwatertown says:

    Awesome.

  34. Maryann says:

    I love this!!!!

  35. Cora says:

    You’re not the only who gets responded by cool people. Damon Linker answered me, because I translated a text he wrote into portuguese. He said “thank you very much”. Already got the frame.

  36. Kris Miller says:

    GAAAAH!!!!! Okay, this is the first time I’ve ever commented. Heck, I only stumbled upon your comic an hour or so ago. :D ANyhoo, THIS IS THE GREATEST THING TO EVER HAPPEN TO ANYBODY EVERRRRR!!!! I <3 you. Well done!

  37. Ashley B says:

    Omg! That’s awesome! … if you don’t mind could you provide what the address to SVU productions is so I could send them a letter or something?

  38. Bruna Paiva says:

    That’s amazing. Chris Meloni is definitely my favourite actor. I wish I could meet him someday, but I don’t think that will ever happen. :’( And I don’t think that Law & Order SVU will be the same without him.
    Ps.: I love your comics!
    x

  39. Pingback: Heaps Cool Stuff | Fat Aus

  40. Pingback: This Week on the Web, vol. 10 « Slapstik's Blog

  41. Dave Land says:

    This is a cool reminder that some celebrities are more or less like regular people: doing what they hope is a good job and being thrilled to see that someone actually appreciates it.

  42. cornfreejuly says:

    Definitely way cooler than the Renaissance.

  43. XRYSA MELONI says:

    OMG!!!! I LOVE HIM I AM TOTALLY CRAZY ABOUT HIM I WANT TO MARY HIM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WANT ONLY TO CONTACT HIM FOR A MOMENT!!!!!!!! IF ONLY HE CAME TO GREECE!!!!!!

  44. adriana says:

    Hey Christopher Meloni i just wanted to say that your my favorite character on Law & order:svu can i ask a question? if so please send in email to nana.pena315@yahoo.com please

  45. chris says:

    dude that’s really cool!!

  46. The Real Cie says:

    Reblogged this on The Netherworld and commented:
    Now that’s validation! <3

  47. jeannie graves says:

    hey christopher meloni thats so cool i wish that i could meet christopher meloni and mariska hargitay someday but i dont see that ever happen mr christopher meloni is my favortie actor on law and order svu im a huge fan of law and order svu your number one fan jeannie graves congras christopher meloni im pound of you

Leave a Reply

