#90: Interruption

When I’m the one interrupting someone’s joke, here’s what I’m thinking: “Hey! I know the punchline to this joke! Which means I know the same cool thing that this cool person knows! If I jump in with the punchline, this cool person will realize that I am cool, too, and we’ll become super best friends.”

When my joke’s being interrupted, here’s what I’m thinking: “Bitch, I don’t care if you know the punchline to this joke; I started telling it and so I deserve to finish it. How dare you steal my glory?”

And no matter which one I am in a given situation, I always, always forget what it’s like to be on the other side.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #90: Interruption

  1. I think the only time I don’t feel one way (you’ll love me when I show you I know the answer!) or the other (STFU! I’m telling a joke!) is during the Interrupting Cow joke.

    “Knock knock.”

    “Who’s there?”

    “Interrupting Cow.”

    “Interrup — ”

    “MOOO!!!”

  2. Myles says:

    Smells like carrots – I get it! I also like to finish other people’s jokes, but I still laugh raucously at them. So everything works out okay. I love bad jokes.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention #90: Interruption | Fudge That Sugar -- Topsy.com

  4. Holly Dixon says:

    I find myself distracted by the fact that the first panel was on Lost.

  5. Jeff says:

    You’re sorta damned if you do and damned if you don’t. It’s no better if you wait out someone’s joke patiently, only to then say, “Yeah I love that joke.” Because then they feel like, “Well then why’d you let me go all the way through it?”

    But then to avoid this scenario you would have to fake a reaction as though you’d never heard it. I say keep on interrupting!

    • Holly Dixon says:

      Yeah, pretty much exactly. If someone asks you, “Why did the chicken cross the road?” you’re going to chime in your response. You’re not going to go “WELL GEE I DUNNO LET ME IN ON THE ANSWER PLEASE”

      Interrupting jokes is how newer, better, sleeker jokes are born. It’s comedic Darwinism.

Leave a Reply

