#100: Honesty

Happy 100th comic, everybody! I am incredibly, incredibly surprised and thrilled that I made it this far. It seems like only yesterday I was scrambling to come up with comic ideas with which to start Fudge That Sugar; if you had told me that I’d make it to 100, I’m not sure I would have believed you. (If you then explained that most of the comics weren’t very good, I’d have found that a lot more credible.)

To my readers who have been there from the start and those I’ve picked up along the way, thank you for reading!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to #100: Honesty

  1. bradenbost says:

    My favorite one so far. Good work. I hope this exchange actually happened.

  2. beaglezmom says:

    Happy 100! This is a great one. I may have to memorize that speech word by word.

  3. Billy says:

    Man! Where was this comic 3 weeks ago when I needed it!? It perfectly encapsulates what I wanted to say. Fudge That Sugar for the win.

  4. Weston says:

    Although this is not my favorite comic, in fact I don’t even like it. However congrats on 100, I love the comic and hope you get to a 1000

  5. Kate says:

    Thank you for bringing the comic to us! Great, terrific, satisfying speech. I agree with beaglezmom.

  6. swankybanana says:

    i love you!

  7. Jeff Anderson says:

    And thank you for sharing.

  8. Erin says:

    Happy 100th Kat! xo

  9. TheShortOne says:

    Congratulations! And a happy 100 comics more! :)

  10. Natalie says:

    Excellent work. Also, happy 100th! And many more! :)

  11. Pingback: Honesty vs. Mean « Wired, Witty, & Well-dressed

  12. Nellie says:

    What a perfect #100. Soo true and sooo awesome. Thanks and congratulations.

  13. happy 100th!
    My, a 100 already? You’re getting old. Just being honest.

    now on to the next 100!

  14. Mrs.M says:

    hahaha amazing comic!! happy 100th! =)

  15. Sher Bear says:

    YAY!! Congrats! I have been here from the beginning and I love that all I have to type into my browser to get to your site is FU. haha Here’s to 100 more!

  16. heather says:

    Preach it, sister!

    (And grats on making it to 100! May there be many more such celebrations to come!)

  17. milieus says:

    I know this has been said a ton, but congrats!

  18. Dalton H says:

    Excellent~! Happy 100th of course, and I entirely agree. I was just thinking about this the other day–people seem to have a desire to “tell it like it is”, when all that really means is being a jackass for no good reason. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels this.

  19. Mandy says:

    This is wonderful, and SOO true.

    Thanks for this and congrats on #100!!

  20. septentriones says:

    This is honestly wonderful. I’m really glad I’ve been following the comic since the beginning. Please keep making more!

  21. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

  22. Leslie Edens says:

    Fricking.Awesomesauce.

    And since someone had the audacity to do this to me the other day at work, i fully appreciate this. The customer may always be right, but sometimes he needs to shut his fracking mouth.

    fin

  23. grimaud50 says:

    Congrats on the milestone. Your blog is one of the very few pages I actually have bookmarked on my laptop. Thanks for the laughs (three times a week).

  24. David says:

    Congrats on 100! You don’t look a day over 50. Just being a dillhole … er honest.

  25. Garret says:

    Just like house, I’ll bet you watch house

  26. VicQ says:

    Absolutely brilliant. Congrats on your 100th!

  27. Bryce says:

    Ouch… well that hits home some what (quite a bit), thanks I guess

  28. blackwatertown says:

    Woohoo – nailed it.

  29. Kaichu says:

    I still like fruit in my desserts. Just being honest :-)

  30. Rae says:

    this is beautiful

  31. Monica says:

    Hilariously Brilliant!! Can’t stop smiling! ;)

  32. Arthur says:

    I wish you’d done this years ago! My dear old mom was perpetually “just being honest” while she verbally slashed people to the bone, and I would have loved to print this comic for her when I still had the chance.

  33. Victor Riley says:

    Great job! This is brilliant! I have to remember this argument….

  34. Pingback: #100: Honesty (via Fudge That Sugar) « Word Salad

  35. Pingback: #100: Honesty (via Fudge That Sugar) « Word Salad

  36. pacman says:

    So… after the long, blunt, and honest speech made by the person on the right (in glasses), their words were just as hurtful and cruel as the first person’s words… Got it! Good comic!

  37. My wife is brutally honest at times – which can sound similar to the first panel there. This is not because she’s an asshole, it’s an effect of her having Asperger’s Syndrome, a high-functioning form of autism which, it seems, most people do not have a bloody clue about.

    It doesn’t mean she has no sense of right or wrong (that’s sociopathy and/or psychopathy), or that she refuses to adapt to society (she’s probably adapted far more than you, who are reading this, has). It simply means that some times words run, unfiltered, from her brain to her mouth, and being as observant as she is, these words are highly likely to reflect the truth, unpleasant or otherwise.

    So this entire diatribe, to me, comes across as more than a little ableist — despite making a good point. Those of us who do not have brains wired differently, like she does, don’t really have an excuse for being impolite. But don’t go making assumptions about the person you’re speaking to. Most people would not know, even from a lengthy conversation, that my wife was anything but neurologically typical — if perhaps a bit shy.

  38. Bellaluna says:

    That’s so true. I have a grandmother that have mean an cruel things to others, and my mother keeps saying that “it’s just the way she is.” But sometimes I just want to say something similar to this, so she knows how I feel.

  39. Wendy says:

    So years later, here I come. This just delighted me, although Gert’s point is well taken. Recently in my 10th grade classroom, one student said something like “That’s a really ugly shirt; no offense.”
    I said, “It’s not magic, you know.” The grtoup of kids involved looked at my blankly, as I’d hoped. I explained, “‘No offense’ is not a magic phrase that allows you to say mean things to people without them getting offended.” They got it pretty quickly, as evidenced by the joke that ran the rest of the period-
    “Hey, Joe. Your mama hates you, No offense!”
    “Yeah? Well you’re the biggest idiot I’ve ever met. No offense!”
    We all were amused, but I think they did get the point.

  40. Pingback: Honesty vs. Mean | Our Wired Lives

Leave a Reply

